?

Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

More Audiobooks


Thomas and I are totally into Audiobooks at the moment. We basically eat them up while gaming besides. Our newest discovery is Anthony Horowitz and his Miniseries "The Power of Five" (Die fünf Tore). We listen to it in German, for Thomas' sake. The first one in the series is "Ravens Gate" ( Todeskreis).



" Matt has always known he has unusual powers. Raised in foster care, he is sent to Yorkshire on a rehabilitation programme, only to find himself in the midst of sinister goings-on. Matt investigates and uncovers a terrible secret - eight guardians are protecting the world from the evil ones, beings banished long ago by five children. But devil worshippers want to let the evil ones back in..."

The story is very gripping and we can hardly wait to listen to the rest of the series!

While Thomas is watching the soccer world championship, I usually listen to a Thriller. I am now officially a fan of Simon Beckett's David Hunter stories! I finished listening to "Written in Bone" (Kalte Asche) this weekend and it was amazing. I didn't find out who the murderer was until the very end and still, there came a very unexpected turning in the story.

"On his way back from an ongoing investigation into a serial killer in Scotland, forensic anthropologist David Hunter is asked to examine a fire-death on the remote Hebridean island of Runa. Told only that there is something 'strange' about it, Hunter is intrigued enough to accept - despite the worsening winter weather conditions, and the strain it will put on his already troubled relationship with his girlfriend, Jenny.

After a rough sea journey, he and the two police officers who accompany him are met by Brody, a retired DI who now lives on the island, and who discovered the body. Warned that it will be unlike anything he's seen before, Hunter is still unprepared for what confronts him at the abandoned old crofter's cottage - human remains that have been burnt to the bone, except for both feet and a single hand that have somehow survived unscathed. Even more inexplicably, nothing else in the cottage has been damaged by the fire.

It appears to be a textbook case of the phenomenon known as spontaneous human combustion. But Hunter is certain there is a more rational explanation for what has happened. And although the police seem ready to dismiss this as a bizarre accidental death, he finds himself drawn more towards Brody's gut feeling: whatever caused this, it was no accident.

But even as Hunter comes face to face with the knowledge that there is a murderer on the island, the full force of an Atlantic storm descends. Cut off from the mainland, he begins to realise that the burned corpse is only one of Runa's secrets. And as the storm rages, the killing begins in earnest..."

Also, if you are into the darker side of thrillers - think along the lines of Hannibal Lecter - then Cody McFadyen's Smoky Barret novels are for you. The german Audio books are being read by the lady who synchronises Dana Scully, X-Files. The woman has a very nice voice to listen to. And she manages to suck you right into the story with her interpretation. Absolutely amazing! I've started listening to "The Face Of Death"  (Der Todeskünstler) yesterday and could hardly stop. It's very brutal and very Silence-of-the-lambs sometimes, but an extremely gripping told story.

Actually, she brings it to the point: "A June 2007 Significant Seven Editors' Pick: Don't let the title fool you. Cody McFadyen's The Face of Death is not just another scary-as-hell serial killer novel (although it is that in spades). Drawing a chilling portrait of a child stalked by a serial killer seeking revenge, McFadyen's second novel is surprisingly moving, standing out in an already packed genre by focusing on victim Sarah Langstrom and her struggle to survive. McFadyen knocked our socks off with his first book Shadow Man, but this arguably better sequel gives readers more time with Special Agent Smoky Barrett (Harris fans should imagine a stronger, more deeply scarred Clarice Starling). Barrett is a remarkable character--a ferocious survivor and reluctant heroine who only realizes her true potential in the face of unspeakable tragedy. Shocking, gruesome, and terrifying as it may be, the big kicker of this second novel is that it may also move you to tears. Easily one of my favorite thrillers of the year so far, The Face of Death is a perfect book for fans of Deaver, Koontz and King. But don't let me convince you, have a gander at the first chapter and decide for yourself. --Daphne Durham

And yes, I was absolutely moved to tears - I don't remember ever sitting there breathlessly, following the story and having tears roll down my face. Except when watching a movie. But ones own fantasy is so much better and mostly more fearsome than any director could ever bring moving pictures to the screen.


Comments

Profile

red pill
morgaine77
morgaine77

Latest Month

November 2011
S M T W T F S
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   
Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Katy Towell